Press Release: KEC Announces results of KCSC member elections

Press Release: KEC Announces results of KCSC member elections


KEC Announces results of KCSC member elections (pdf)


Kahnawà:ke Education Center (KEC) (Kahnawà:ke, Quebec – 28 Kenténha / November 2018) 

The Kahnawà:ke Education Center is pleased to officially announce the results of the Kahnawà:ke Combined Schools Committee (KCSC) elections which were held on Tuesday, November 27th at their Annual General Assembly.


Two seats for General Representatives (parents with students off-reserve) were filled by acclamation by Kateri Oesterreich and Brandy Diabo. Barbara Ann Deer was also nominated but did not meet the qualifications to hold the seat.


The Community Seat was also filled by acclamation by Donna Goodleaf, who was the sole person nominated for the seat. Tahotaratie Cross,  Belle Phillips, and Coral Phillips were nominated for the Post-Secondary seat. After voting by parents with children on the nominal roll, Tahotaratie Cross was the successful candidate with 39 of 68 votes. Both the Community and Post-Secondary seats are new within the KCSC legislation ratified in June 2018.


Outgoing members of the KCSC include Chairperson Deidre Diome, Vice-Chair and Secretary Melissa McGregor, Cheryl Zacharie, and Kara Paul. Kahnawake Survival School Representative Shelley Rice has also officially ended her term. The In-School Committee at KSS will select its KCSC representative at a duly convened meeting in December.


Current KCSC members include Diane Deer (207 Longhouse, Amelia McGregor (Mohawk Trail Longhouse), Karonhí:io Curotte (KSS Representative), Leo Parent (Karonhianónhnha Representative), Kary Robertson (Karonhianónhnha Representative), Chelsea Lahache (Kateri School Representative), and Kaylea Curotte (Kateri School Representative).


The Kahnawà:ke Education Center would like to welcome the new members to the KCSC and look forward to continuing the laborious work of carrying out the vision of our founding members while ensuring the needs of students and families are met.


The KEC would also like to thank the outgoing members for their dedication and commitment during their terms. The KEC wishes them success on whatever path they choose.




For More Information, Contact:

Alana Atwin, Communications Officer

(450) 632-8770